Kickboxing Phenom To Debut On Strikeforce

Raymond

The Strikeforce promotion has added one more combatant to their card, which will take place on Friday at the HP Pavilion in San Jose, CA; according to MMANews.com, kickboxing phenom Raymond “The Real Deal” Daniels will make his mixed martial arts debut at Strikeforce’s “Melendez vs. Thomson” event when he takes on Jeremiah Metcalf (8-4).  Daniels has already drawn comparisons to current Strikeforce World Middleweight Champion Cung Le; Daniels holds a 6th-degree black belt in Kenpo and Shotokan Karate as well as a 5th-degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do.  His fighting style is very similar to Le’s.

Daniels joined the WCL in 2006 and amassed an 18-0 record while there over three seasons; earlier this month, he led his team to the season championship.  Meanwhile, Daniels’ opponent, Metcalf, brings into the Strikeforce event a 3-fight win streak and a product from Modesto’s AAA Academy of Kickboxing, home to Carter Williams.  Below is the tentative card:

  • Raymond “The Real Deal” Daniels vs. Jeremiah Metcalf
  • Gilbert “El Nino” Melendez (14-1) vs. Josh “The Punk” Thomson (14-2)
  • Bobby Southworth (8-5) vs. Anthony “El Toro” Ruiz (20-10)
  • Joe “Diesel” Riggs (27-10) vs. Luke Stewart (5-1) 
  • Nam Phan (14-4) vs. Billy Evangelista (6-0)
  • Elaina “Beef” Maxwell (2-2) vs. Miesha Tate (1-1)

Doors open for the event at 6:00 PM (PT) and the first preliminary bout will start at 6:30 PM; HDNet’s telecast of the event will start at 7:30 PM (PT)/10:30 PM (ET) and the main card will begin at 8 PM (PT)/11 PM (ET)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Octagon Buzz via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to del.icio.us  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply

Write For Us